Cat Treats for a Dog’s Birthday

About a year ago, one of my first posts was about frozen treats I brought to a doggy birthday party.  Almost 100 posts later, I attended Billy and Skeeter’s birthday once again.  This year, I made this recipe for their birthday treats, a clipping I’ve literally been holding since their last party.

The recipe was published in Family Circle, August 2015.  I couldn’t find a link to the Family Circle recipe, but I found the actual person who submitted the recipe to the magazine!  Check out her gorgeous and photogenic cat here:

http://www.thecookierookie.com/3-ingredient-salmon-cat-treats/

10 oz canned salmon (undrained)
1 egg (beaten)
2 cups whole wheat flour

  1. Heat oven to 350°. Pulse 10 oz canned salmon (undrained) in a food processor and chop as finely as possible.
  2. In a stand mixer, combine salmon, 1 egg (beaten) and 2 cups whole wheat flour until dough forms. If dough is too dry, add up to 1/3 cup water. If dough is too wet or sticky, add a bit more flour. Dough should be tacky but not sticky.
  3. Roll out dough on a floured surface until about 1/4 inch thick. Use a 3/4-inch cookie cutter in the shape of your choice to create your treats.

Some very slight adjustments that I made include mashing up the salmon right in my mixing bowl, and beating the egg in the bowl, not before adding it to the bowl.  I needed more than 1/3 cup of water, but it was easy to tell when the dough was the right consistency to stick together.

20161022_161301-1

Halloween birthdays get Fall and Halloween-shaped cookies.  I made the tiny bits and balls for our cats, but ended up giving most of the treats to the birthday boys.  My 3 doofuses weren’t interested in freshly baked treats, though Husband was able to get 2 of the 3 to each eat one at official “treat time”, instead of when I finished baking the stinky things.  This recipe is not difficult if you don’t despise roll-out cookies (I usually do).  The dough was quite easy to work with and didn’t require a lot of extra flour when rolling them out.  I wouldn’t make these again, only because my cats weren’t interested in the finished product.  I would happily make them for my friends’ cats and dogs (if you don’t tell the dogs about the cat treat part).  Happy birthday!

 

 

Leave a Reply

