Edamame Hummus

I’m not finding myself in a very Olympic mood this year, which is odd because I usually can’t get enough of the non-stop coverage.  I finally had some people over this week for a get together, and grabbed this recipe for a little international flair.  It was published in Parade Magazine on May 17, 2015, and Husband clipped it because a) we love hummus, and b) we always have edamame in the freezer.

http://parade.com/396941/parade/go-global-with-hummus/

Asian Edamame “Hummus”

By ALISON ASHTON
SERVES 4-6
 

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 (10-oz) pkg frozen shelled edamame (green soybeans)
  • 2 Tbsp toasted sesame oil
  • 1 Tbsp creamy peanut butter
  • ¾ tsp salt
  • ¼ tsp Sriracha sauce
  • Juice of 1 lime
  • 1 garlic clove, smashed
  • 6 Tbsp ice water

DIRECTIONS

  1. Thaw edamame according to package directions. Place in a colander and rinse with cold water; drain.
  2. Combine edamame, oil, peanut butter, salt, Sriracha, juice and garlic in a food processer or blender. Process to combine, pausing to scrape down sides as needed. With motor running, add ice water through food chute; process until smooth.
  3. Scrape into a bowl. Let stand at room temperature for 30 minutes to allow flavors to develop.

COOK’S NOTE

Serve with: Cut-up vegetables and rice crackers.

I decided to thaw my edamame in the microwave (in the bag, for 3-4 minutes), as I do when we serve it as a side vegetable.  I had to let it cool a few minutes before I could shell it (which I did on the couch in front of the TV, not tuned to the Olympics).  I love my food processor!  It made quick work of all these ingredients.  I was afraid that I added too much water; my hummus looks a little wet or thin in the pictures, but a little time in the refrigerator firmed it up.

20160807_113341-1

I served this hummus with pita chips, cucumber slices, baby carrots, and celery sticks.  The flavor was rich and salty.  It was VERY sesame forward, which I didn’t mind but it was very powerful with each bite.  If you aren’t a fan of the sesame oil you could reduce the sesame and replace it with half olive oil to decrease the pungency.  My spread seemed a little grainy, which may be the nature of this dish, or it might have benefited from a little more processing time.  Either way, I thought this dip was great.  You go go a little heavier on the lime and/or the Sriracha without it becoming overpowering; it could actually help tame the sesame flavor. Verdict: I will definitely make this again, and probably soon, because it was gone within 2 days of the gathering.

Leave a Reply

