Kale and Roasted Chickpeas

I’m sure I’ve talked about my love affair with kale before.  We usually grow it ourselves and receive it in our CSA.  We have just recently planted our garden and have no hope of growing our own kale this year.  We just got started too late.  I will fight Jin for the farmer kale this year– usually I’m begging her to take it because we have so much of it (I was giving giant bags of our garden kale to a friend for her rabbit, and it turned out her lab was stealing it out of the cage!). The early kale from the farmer went in this salad.  Roasted chickpeas?  I could eat them every day!  Another Good Housekeeping, June 2016.

http://www.goodhousekeeping.com/food-recipes/a38876/crunchy-chickpea-kale-caesar-recipe/

Crunchy Chickpea Kale Caesar

TOTAL TIME: 0:35
PREP: 0:10
LEVEL: Easy
YIELD: 4 servings
 

Ingredients

  • 2 (15-oz.) cans chickpeas, rinsed and drained
  • 2 tbsp. extra-virgin olive oil
  • Kosher salt
  • Freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/4 pt. mayonnaise
  • 2 tbsp. lemon juice
  • 2 tbsp. finely grated Parmesan
  • 1 tbsp. Dijon mustard
  • 2 cloves garlic, finely chopped
  • 1 tsp. anchovy paste
  • 1 large bunch kale (tough stems removed), chopped
  • 2 small peppers, seeded and thinly sliced

Directions

  1. Pat chickpeas very dry with paper towels. On rimmed baking sheet, toss with olive oil, 1/4 teaspoon salt and 1/2 teaspoon pepper. Roast in 425°F oven for 30 minutes, shaking occasionally; let cool.
  2. In a large bowl, whisk mayonnaise, lemon juice, Parmesan, Dijon, garlic, anchovy paste, and 1/4 teaspoon salt. Add kale and peppers; toss to coat. To serve, top salad with chickpeas.
Nutritional Information (per serving): Calories 415; Protein 14 g; Carbohydrate 43 g; Total Fat 22 g; Saturated Fat 3 g; Dietary Fiber 12 g; Sodium 870 mg 

I’ve made this salad twice now, and I’ve used different dressings than listed here.  The first time I made a raspberry vinaigrette with some of the oil from a jar of marinated artichokes.  Last night I used a poppyseed dressing that comes in a kale and Brussels sprouts salad kit (we just got back from a mini-vacation and I was looking for something quick).  Both dressings worked perfectly, so if you want to use a bottled dressing or a favorite recipe of your own, the Caesar component isn’t the only route.  Note:  I’ve made the chickpeas as directed, but I also successfully roasted them in the toaster oven without heating up the kitchen as much.

20160716_164751-1
I love the way this salad is light but satisfying.  The first time I made it I tore the kale.  This last time I slivered it into ribbons and it was much easier to eat– so much chewing!  The chickpeas give a soft crunch, as do the peppers.  I have to confess, I put some farmer’s market cherry tomatoes in here (after I took the picture) and they added the best burst of flavor.  I can also see adding walnuts (Husband did this and really liked it) and some grated Parm or goat cheese (we’re avoiding dairy right now but it would be a lovely addition).  Really, if you are willing to experiment, this salad could go in many different directions.  Verdict:  Without a doubt, a keeper!  Jin might have to fight me for the CSA kale, but she’s probably going to figure out that it’s a better plan for me to play with it and hand it back in a better form!
Leave a Reply

