Meatless Taco Friday!

Fourth of July weekend came and went, and with it the last of my giant pile of recipe clippings that I had spent the last few days cooking.  Husband loves mushrooms, and I do not, but I’ve been trying really hard to be a grownup and use them more often.  These asparagus and Shiitake tacos looked pretty good when I was trying to do something more than a side dish with two pounds of Costco asparagus.  I was paging through the recipes in the June issue of Good Housekeeping when I spotted it.

Oddly enough, this recipe is nowhere on the internet.  I couldn’t find other recipes from the issue either, so whether or not it’s just a weird glitch on the magazine’s part, no link.  Here’s the recipe as it was printed in the magazine.

Grilled Asparagus and Shiitake Tacos

Prep: 15 minutes        Total: 20 minutes

Ingredients

3 T canola oil
4 cloves garlic, crushed with press
1 t ground chipotle chile
1 # asparagus, trimmed
8 oz shiitake mushrooms, stems discarded
1 bunch green onions, trimmed
8 corn tortillas, warmed
1 c homemade or prepared guacamole
Lime wedges, cilantro sprigs, and hot sauce for serving

  1. Heat grill on medium. In large baking dish, combine oil, garlic, chipotle and 1/4 t salt. Add asparagus, shiitakes, and green onions, tossing to coat. Grill asparagus 5-6 minutes or until tender and slightly charred, turning occasionally. Grill mushrooms and green onions 4-5 minutes or until lightly charred, turning occasionally. Transfer vegetables to cutting board.

Cut asparagus and green onions into 2 inch lengths. Slice shiitakes. Serve with corn tortillas, guacamole, lime wedges, cilantro, and hot sauce.

Serves 4: 350 Cal, 7 g protein, 36 g carbs, 21 grams fat (2 g sat fat), 11 g fiber, 445 mg sodium

I used a mushroom blend (oyster, shiitake, portobello) because shiitakes were frightfully expensive (I really couldn’t justify spending $10 on mushrooms at the regular grocery store, and I didn’t have time to go to an Asian market, where I’m sure the mushies would have been more affordable).  I didn’t de-stem, and since I was using a grill pan I sliced them during prep.  It took me longer to grill everything since asparagus and mushrooms had to cook separately, because my square pan was too small to fit everyone at the same time.

20160701_182218-1

Verdict: Worth making again.  Using the grill pan made these more time consuming, so using the grill would be a better option.  The flavor was good, but Husband and I both thought there was something missing, leaving these tacos a little flat.  (Look closely at the picture.)  I realized later that I completely forgot the green onions!  Even with the omission, we were pleased with the result, but I’m sure the onions would have made them even better. Adding fresh corn or other taco toppings would also add flavor, texture, and color.  If you would rather skip the tortillas, this dish could also make a nice rice bowl or top spring greens for a flavorful salad.  I’m even toying with turning this filling into enchiladas for another twist. Maybe I’ll become a mushroom convert with more dishes like this.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

