Hot Weather = Salads (Finally)

The last few weeks of the school year, I had several conversations with colleagues about eagerly anticipating salad-for-lunch weather.  Several of us agreed we just didn’t want salad for lunch if the weather was cold– we wanted something warm and comforting (especially since you never know from day to day if our school is going to be like an oven or a tomb).  I had this salad recipe on deck (literally, sitting on the kitchen table) for months, waiting for those late Spring days.  It’s from Prevention Magazine, September 2015.

http://www.prevention.com/food/paleo-salad-recipes

Salmon Niçoise

PREP TIME: 20 minutes
TOTAL TIME: 20 minutes
SERVINGS: 2

6 sm red potatoes, quartered
½ lb green beans
2 c spinach, chopped 
¼ c fresh basil
3 hard-boiled eggs, peeled and quartered
4 oz can wild salmon, drained
1 med tomato, cut into bite-size wedges
½ c kalamata olives

1. PLACE potatoes in microwaveable bowl and cover with lid or wax paper. Microwave until fork-tender, 5 to 7 minutes. Sprinkle with salt to taste.
2. BLANCH green beans in small pot of boiling water 2 to 3 minutes. Drain and plunge into ice water.
3. DIVIDE spinach and basil between 2 plates. Divide potatoes, green beans, eggs, salmon, tomato, and olives between plates, placing each ingredient in a small section. Dress with your favorite homemade vinaigrette.

NUTRITION (per serving) 678 cal, 33 g pro, 99 g carb, 14 g fiber, 13 g sugars, 19 g fat, 4.5 g sat fat, 1,095 mg sodium

20160612_085602

Verdict:  a keeper!  I made 2 salads pictured here with CSA spinach for Jin (my CSA partner) and my own lunch, and one with romaine lettuce for Client (she only tolerates spinach in small doses).  I used canned salmon, but eliminated the green beans and basil.   I did one hard-boiled egg per salad and added some sliced radishes for crunch (thanks, Farmer John).  The potatoes needed more salt or pepper (I’m famous for undersalting) but everything else was wonderful.  My calorie counts will be different from those listed here, since I made a few changes and reduced the amount of egg per serving.  I can’t remember if I did one or two 7 ounce cans of salmon for the 3 salads, but I’m reasonably sure I did one.  I used a light honey-mustard dressing on mine, which I thought was perfect.  Despite all the ingredients, the prep here is minimal (you could microwave the green beans to save time).  You could use any greens and experiment with herbs, though I might like to add some romaine along with the spinach for some extra crunch and alternate texture (does anyone  else think raw spinach makes their teeth feel fuzzy?). The outcome was light but filling.  Go protein!

Leave a Reply

