More Canned Salmon

I took another walk through my recipe folders last week.  I am eagerly anticipating the start of our veggie CSA in a couple of short weeks, and I started mentally flagging recipes for our early vegetables (lettuce wraps, broccoli, beets, spinach).  While browsing, I came upon several quick and easy recipes that are on the healthier end of the spectrum (cake decorating class really took its toll!)

My in-laws took us out to a really nice place for our anniversary last Saturday, so I knew we’d need a lighter lunch that day.  Since canned salmon is my new love, this salmon cake was perfect, and it was an easy entrée for Client as well.  We also have eight or nine flat-leaf parsley plants that have returned to the garden this year, so I am trying to use as much as I can before we plant the actual garden and have to dig up most of those volunteers.  This recipe is from the October 2015 issue of Better Homes and Gardens.

http://www.bhg.com/recipe/salmon-patties-with-parsley-mayo-1/

Salmon Patties with Parsley Mayo

Ingredients

(3)5 ounce pouches skinless, boneless pink salmon
1/2 cup panko bread crumbs
1/2 cup finely chopped red sweet pepper
1/2 cup finely chopped green onions
1 egg, lightly beaten

1/2 cup mayonnaise
1 tablespoon yellow mustard
Nonstick cooking spray
3 tablespoons finely chopped fresh parsley
1 tablespoon lemon juice or white vinegar

1 teaspoon bottled hot pepper sauce

Directions

  1. In a medium bowl combine salmon, bread crumbs, sweet pepper, green onions, egg, 2 tablespoons of the mayonnaise, and the mustard. Shape into eight 2 1/2-inch patties (about 1/3 cup each).
  2. Coat a very large nonstick skillet with nonstick cooking spray and heat over medium heat. Add patties and cook for 4 to 5 minutes or until browned. Coat patty tops with nonstick cooking spray; turn. Cook 4 to 5 minutes more or until browned and cooked through (160 degrees F.).
  3. For parsley mayo, in a small bowl stir together the remaining mayonnaise, parsley, lemon juice, and hot sauce. Serve patties with parsley mayo.

Nutrition Facts (Salmon Patties with Parsley Mayo)

Per serving:

422 cal
33 g fat (7 g sat. fat, 19 g polyunsaturated fat,7 g monounsatured fat),
99 mg chol
852 mg sodium
8 g carb
1 g fiber
2 g sugar
22 g protein 
Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet

I used 2 cans (7 oz each) of salmon.  I didn’t have any panko breadcrumbs, and remembering that a recent crab cake seemed a little dry when I used homemade breadcrumbs instead of panko, I reduced the amount to 1/3 cup.  I swapped out half of the mayo for Greek yogurt in the cake and the sauce and shaved off close to 70 calories.  The cakes needed a little tenderness to keep them well-formed, but they went into the pan easily enough off a mini spatula.  I completely forgot to spray the patties before I flipped them, but they didn’t stick when I took them out or get too browned.

20160528_122103

Verdict:  The cakes were perfect.  They were meaty and crisp, and though they seemed small, they didn’t have much filler.  Though I could have eaten more, I didn’t need to.  The mayo was creamy, lemony, herby, and had just a hint of a kick.  You could adjust the hot sauce up or down according to your preference, and substitute chives or tarragon as the herb component as well.  These would be great with a small salad but I was pleased with the plate as described.  I will definitely make these again (I mean, I still have at least 7 cans of salmon).

Leave a Reply

