Tuna Salad 2.0

As a child, I was never a big fan of tuna (or any fish, for that matter).  I think my mom tricked me into eating fish sandwiches by saying they were chicken patties.  I can’t exactly remember when I started eating fish, but the suggestion to eat fish at least once a week is one I try to put into place in our household.  We love salmon in any preparation, cod is my favorite for fish tacos, and we sneak shrimp into a variety of healthy dishes.

I came across this tuna salad makeover in the pile, and I needed a quick and easy dish earlier in the week while husband was recovering from a sudden cold or sinus outbreak (I’ve managed to avoid it so far). Swapping out a lot of the mayo for Greek yogurt cuts about 18 grams of fat over a restaurant version of the popular classic.  I enjoyed the addition of veggies for extra color, crunch factor, and fiber.

http://www.goodhousekeeping.com/food-recipes/healthy/a9490/healthy-tuna-salad-recipe/

TOTAL TIME: 0:15

LEVEL: Easy
YIELD: 4 main-dish servings, 2 1/2 cups
SERVES: 4
 

Ingredients

2 cans chunk light tuna in water
2 medium stalks celery
1 medium carrot
½ medium red pepper
¼ c. light mayonnaise
3 tbsp. nonfat plain yogurt
1 tbsp. fresh lemon juice
pepper

Directions

  1. In medium bowl, combine tuna, celery, carrot, red pepper, mayonnaise, yogurt, lemon juice, and 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper. Makes about 2 1/2 cups.

It’s weird that the ingredient list neglects to mention that your vegetables should be chopped or sliced.  I sliced everything with the exception of the carrot, which I ran through the food processor.  I used a couple of mini-peppers from a veggie tray we had taken to a family lunch (one red, one yellow).  I used olive oil mayo and plain non-fat Greek yogurt (clearance score!).  I did have fresh lemons in the house, but used bottled lemon juice just as a convenience.

20160510_172825-1

Verdict:  a winner!  The salad came together beautifully– the tuna was meaty (Costco) and broke apart and blended well.  Husband had his sandwich on toasted multi-grain bread, while I finished the last hoagie roll from our tuna burgers made the week before.  The flavors were fresh and crunchy and the dressing was light and creamy.  I completely forgot the pepper, but it wasn’t really necessary– the salad wasn’t bland at all.  I took the leftovers to lunch later in the week– a scoop over a green salad one day, and another sandwich a different day.   I would make this again in a heartbeat.  Just for more color and added veggies, I would probably add lettuce and tomatoes (the tuna was really good in the green salad with a little Italian dressing). While you could make adjustments for different flavors and spice levels, I was really happy with the salad just as it’s presented here.  Yum!  A pretty painless way to be more healthy.

Leave a Reply

