Mushroom Me This

Have I mentioned that I am not a fan of mushrooms? It’s mostly a texture thing– they are squishy and chewy and rubbery.  Husband loves them, and my standard response is, “They grow out of dead things! Why would you eat that?”  I find them earthy and musty in flavor, most of the time.  But I must admit, Jin puts some kinds of mushrooms in the Korean dishes she makes for me, and I have been able to tolerate them, but I don’t go out of my way to eat them.

After starting culinary school, I realized that as a chef I am going to need to try all kinds of mushrooms and cook with them, since they are a popular ingredient and found in many recipes.  I’ve found that the baby portobellas I find at Costco are not too horrible, so I use them in the place of cremini mushrooms in most recipes.  This recipe is heavy on the mushroom sauce, from Good Housekeeping, December 2014.

http://www.goodhousekeeping.com/food-recipes/a15975/white-wine-mushroom-chicken-recipe-ghk1014/

Chicken with White Wine and Mushroom Sauce

Ingredients

1 tbsp. olive oil
1¼ lb. chicken cutlets
¼ tsp. salt
1/8 tsp. pepper
10 oz. sliced mushrooms
1 shallot
½ c. chicken broth
½ c. white wine
2 tbsp. butter
Chopped parsley
Soft polenta
Sautéed broccoli rabe

Directions

  1. In 12-inch skillet, heat olive oil on medium-high. Sprinkle chicken cutlets with salt and pepper. Cook 6 minutes or until cooked through, turning once; transfer to plate and cover. Add mushrooms and minced shallot to skillet. Cook 3 minutes. Add white wine; cook 2 minutes. Stir in chicken broth and juices on plate; cook to reduce by half. Off heat, stir in butter, then chopped parsley. Serve on soft polenta with sautéed broccoli rabe, if desired.

I used chicken breasts in this recipe, 4-5 oz portions, and didn’t bother pounding them into cutlets.  For the white wine, I opened some cheap fruit flavored chardonnay (Arbor Mist; if you must know, I had it on hand for sangrias and similar spritzer type drinks).  We didn’t bother with the polenta or the rabe; I whipped up a simple side salad for this dinner (it was originally selected as an entree for client, and she has preferred sides I try to stick to).

20160426_181711-1

Verdict:  For a healthy dish, this meal was very easy to prepare and still very flavorful.  Despite the mushrooms, I thought it turned out quite tasty!  I sliced the mushrooms thinly, which helped with my mushroom issues a lot.  The texture was still a little spongy, but the sweetness of the wine and the onions kept the mushroom flavors at bay.   I added the chives for color, but they didn’t add much else.  You could easily use parsley or oregano as an alternate garnish.  I wish there had been a little more sauce– maybe the mushrooms absorbed a bit between when I cooked it and when we ate it?  I might increase the sauce by 1/2 if I made this again.  And I probably will make it again.  A crusty loaf of bread and a salad and/or steamed broccoli could make this entree a pretty impressive meal.

 

Leave a Reply

