Meatballs

I started subscribing to Food & Wine Magazine a few  years ago as a treat.  My niece or nephew was selling subscriptions to support middle school band and the prices were actually pretty great bargains.  I didn’t really connect with the first few issues; everything seemed really fancy, and most of the recipes were clearly not health-conscious.   I made one or two things, but didn’t think I’d have much use for the magazine overall.  After I started culinary school, I started reading the magazine with a very different mindset.  I came across this recipe for party-friendly finger food– Asian Chicken Meatballs.  After using a calorie calculator designed for recipes, I made this for Client. It’s from the January 2015 issue of Food & Wine, in a regular feature by Justin Chapple called Green Market Math.

http://www.foodandwine.com/blogs/2015/01/02/4-healthy-ways-to-get-your-chicken-on-this-winter

Asian Chicken Meatballs

In a bowl, mix 1 pound ground chicken, 1/2 cup plain bread crumbs, 1/3 cup minced scallions, 3 tablespoon minced ginger, 1 egg, 2 minced garlic cloves, 2 teaspoon toasted sesame oil, 2 teaspoon soy sauce and ¼ teaspoon kosher salt. Form into 11/2-inch balls, brush with canola oil and arrange on a baking sheet. Bake at 450° for 13 minutes. Serve with Asian chile sauce.

(6 meatballs = 310 calories, no dipping sauce)

I used ground turkey for this recipe, along with homemade breadcrumbs and 3 tablespoons of commercial egg whites (equivalent of 1 egg; another Costco lifesaver).  I sprayed the whole tray with cooking spray and they turned out perfectly.  I’m thinking of making this into a lettuce wrap to brighten it up a little.

20160415_210150-1

Verdict: A crowd pleaser.  The turkey was lean but not dry.  There was a nice pop of ginger, and the green onion was present but not overwhelming.  More garlic wouldn’t have hurt.  A dipping sauce would enhance the texture, but it isn’t necessary.  The lettuce wrap provided some crunch and the freshness I was looking for.  I would make these again, and possibly experiment with other flavors (Italian, of course, but also Mediterranean, with lamb, Greek seasoning, and a feta creamy dressing).  A great appetizer or light lunch!

One thought on “Meatballs

Leave a Reply

