Spice Up Your Spring, Part 4

It is 70 degrees as I blog from our deck.  Finally! Spring break and Spring have actually decided to get along.  My cat Joe is sitting inside the screen door sniffing the air and it’s adorable.  I just finished a 5 hour cook-a-thon for Client while Husband is away at a nerd –er–Mensa weekend.  This recipe for chipotle salmon tacos was ridiculously quick, and I decided to try a serving when I took a lunch break.  This recipe was featured in the Chicago Tribune Food Section on October 13, 2015.

http://www.chicagotribune.com/dining/ct-easy-recipes-taco-night-fish-steak-pork-vegan-story.html

Chipotle Salmon Tacos

Adapted from Nick Evans’ book, “Love Your Leftovers.”

Prep: 25 minutes
Cook: 5 minutes
Makes: 8 tacos, 4 servings

8 to 10 ounces cooked salmon; whole fillet if possible
1 teaspoon canola or vegetable oil
1/2 teaspoon ground chipotle chili pepper
Kosher or sea salt
1/2 cup sour cream
1 teaspoon chopped fresh dill or 1/2 teaspoon dill seeds
Juice from half a lime
1 cup chopped fresh spinach
8 flour tortillas (6-inch), heated
1/2 cup sliced red onion
4 ounces (about 1 cup) cotija cheese, crumbled
1/4 cup fresh cilantro, loosely packed

1. Heat oven to 350 degrees. Rub salmon with oil; sprinkle with chipotle chili pepper and pinch of salt. Wrap loosely in foil; place on a baking sheet. Bake just to heat salmon through and infuse with the chipotle flavor, 5 minutes. When done, flake salmon with a fork.

2. Meanwhile, for the sauce, stir together sour cream, chopped dill or dill seeds, lime juice and a pinch of salt.

3. Divide spinach and salmon among tortillas (about an ounce of salmon per taco). Top with lime dill sauce, red onions, cotija cheese and fresh cilantro.

Nutrition information per serving: 491 calories, 24 g fat, 11 g saturated fat, 89 mg cholesterol, 37 g carbohydrates, 28 g protein, 1,053 mg sodium, 3 g fiber

I used canned salmon (see here) and it was obviously not whole.  I put it in a skillet with a little oil, sprinkled it with chili powder (since I didn’t have ground chipotle), and warmed it up for a few minutes.  I broke up the bigger chunks and made the pieces pretty uniform in size.

I was very dubious about the dill in the sour cream.  I’m not a huge fan of dill, but I don’t mind it in small amounts (or pickles).  I used dried, not fresh, and squeezed every drop of juice out of my half lime.  It was delicious!  I spread a generous amount on my tortilla, sprinkled red onion, spinach (I didn’t chop mine, but I did chop Client’s portion), and the salmon on top.  I skipped the cheese (cutting calories) and cilantro (didn’t have any).

20160416_113703-1

The combination here is heavenly.  The bite from the red onions with the cool dill cream was perfect.  I loved the crunch of the fresh spinach and the soft salmon.  My only complaint is that the chili powder didn’t add much flavor, so if I used it again, I would at least double it.  The ground chipotle would no doubt add more noticeable heat (I was too chicken to try cayenne).

Verdict:  I have 3 cans of salmon left in the pantry and am already thinking I have to buy more on my next Costco trip!  This is a healthy, easy (read: weeknight friendly), tasty recipe.  I will definitely make this again.

2 thoughts on “Spice Up Your Spring, Part 4

Leave a Reply

