Spice up your Spring, Part 2

Yesterday’s weather was ridiculous!  3 days ago it was 60.  Yesterday (after 2 days of rain) we were back to the 30s with high winds. To add insult to injury, every hour presented alternating snow squalls with sunshine.  This happened at least 6 times over the course of the day.  While I watched the first “dusting” coming down at about 7 am, I rifled through the recipe pile (now neatly contained in a file folder) and pulled a couple of things for Client.  It’s been a busy couple of weeks, but I don’t want to get in a rut, so I chose this  relatively traditional burger with a slight twist.  It’s from Good Housekeeping, no date apparent, but my research uncovered that it was published in July of 2015.

http://www.goodhousekeeping.com/food-recipes/easy/a33404/mediterranean-spiced-burgers/

Mediterranean Spiced Burgers

Ingredients

1 lb. ground meat (lamb, beef, or turkey)
1/2 c. packed fresh cilantro, finely chopped
2 cloves garlic, crushed with press
1 tsp. ground coriander
Kosher salt
1/3 c. ketchup
1 tsp. curry powder
4 buns, toasted
Feta cheese, crumbled, for serving
1 sm. red onion, sliced and grilled
Cilantro, for serving

Directions

  1. Heat grill to medium-high. Mix ground meat, cilantro, garlic, and coriander until just combined. Form into 4 patties (about 1/2 inch thick); sprinkle with salt. Grill burgers 8 to 10 minutes (for medium), turning once halfway through.
  2. Stir together ketchup and curry powder. Serve burgers on buns with curry ketchup. Garnish with 2 tablespoons feta cheese, red onion, and cilantro, if desired.
About 450 cals, 19 g protein, 42 g carbs, 23 g fat (7 g sat), 5 g fiber, 920 mg sodium

 

Soooo, my cilantro was frozen and gross, but I have a stash of dried, so I used about 2 tablespoons of dried cilantro.  For some reason, I also tossed 2 teaspoons of dried parsley in there (rereading the recipe, I’m not sure how I came up with that ingredient, but, like I said, it’s been a rough couple of weeks).  I opted to saute the burgers (see earlier information about 30 degrees and snowing).  You could use a grill pan if you wanted to make these indoors and still have the grill marks.  We used Swiss super thin slices instead of Feta (we also debated about using goat cheese, mango habeñero cheddar, white cheddar, or cotija) and topped the finished product with lettuce, tomato, and red onion.  We used slider buns instead of regular hamburger buns.  1/4 pound burgers, 1/2 inch thick would never fill up a hamburger bun!  The calorie count on a slider bun is 100, which may save you a few calories, depending on your regular bun choice. There’s approximately 200 calories in a white hamburger bun, 120 in whole wheat, and 190 in a brioche bun.

20160402_173020-1

Verdict:  Tasty!  The burgers were lean (I used 93% lean ground beef), and they came out a little dry, so I might add in a little fat next time, or consider mixing my ground beef with a little ground chuck or ground pork.  I would also try making these with bison.

The cilantro and parsley were both evident, but not overpowering, and the curry ketchup provided pleasant pops of flavor.  The extras were tasty, but not absolutely necessary.  I’m looking forward to experimenting with other cheeses and using fresh herbs when I make these burgers again.

 

 

Leave a Reply

