Something is Fishy Around Here

I have recipe ADD.  I buy ingredients, planning to make something, then months later realize I never did.  This isn’t as much of an issue with pantry staples as it is with perishables, but it is why I am constantly resolving to eat down the pantry.

One of my first blog posts was about homemade doggie popsicles I took to a friend’s birthday party (this was in October).  On the same magazine page, there was a recipe for homemade kitty treats using canned salmon as the base.  On my next trip to Costco, I bought a 6 pack of canned salmon, which brought a raised eyebrow from Husband.  I quickly spoke of fish cakes and reminded him of a salmon pot pie we had made several times.  Both would be much more convenient to make on short notice if we didn’t have to wait for frozen salmon to thaw.   Canned salmon is also helpful to have on hand in the event of a kitty hairball.  He saw the logic in the explanations and we both promptly forgot about the stack of salmon cans in the basement auxiliary pantry.

I have had a canned salmon salad recipe at the top of the pile for (literally) months.  I can’t bring myself to make it until warm weather is here to stay.  Lunch salads just don’t do it for me when the temperatures are cold.  I did come across today’s salmon cakes in a recent issue of Prevention Magazine.  It was part of an “cook once, eat twice” feature back in December of 2012.  It’s double the recipe I used, which I read in the October 2015 issue.  I’ve also linked that feature– 7 recipes to kick start clean eating, since it has the correct proportions.

Salmon Cakes with Horseradish Sauce

http://www.prevention.com/food/eat-clean-healthy-meal-plan

SERVES: 2
PREP TIME: 10 minutes
TOTAL TIME: 20 minutes

1 c canned wild salmon, flaked
⅓ c fresh whole grain bread crumbs
¼ c cooked wild rice
3 lg egg whites
½ tsp dark sesame oil
¼ c organic low-fat plain Greek yogurt
1½ tsp drained prepared horseradish
4½ tsp olive oil
2 c organic baby spinach
1 Tbsp lemon juice + wedges for serving

1. COMBINE first 5 ingredients and form into 4 patties (3″ diameter). Mix yogurt and horseradish in small bowl for sauce.
2. HEAT 3 tsp of the olive oil in large nonstick skillet over medium heat. Add patties and cook, turning, until golden on both sides, about 6 minutes.
3. TOSS spinach with lemon juice and remaining 1½ tsp olive oil. Season to taste. Serve cakes with spinach, lemon wedges, and sauce.

NUTRITION (per serving) 356 cal, 29 g pro, 19 g carb, 3 g fiber, 3 g sugars, 18 g fat, 3.5 g sat fat, 475 mg sodium

I was not about to cook a batch of wild rice when I only needed 1/4 cup, so I added an extra 3 tablespoons of bread crumbs to the bowl in step one.  I also added a small handful of fresh flat leaf parsley and a chopped green onion for some color.  Since I intended these cakes to be a light lunch, I made them with about 1/4 cup of the mixture for each patty, which yielded 5 cakes.  I skipped the salad.

20160313_113128-1

Verdict:  Pretty good.  The cakes were dense and meaty, which I loved.  They needed salt and pepper, which I would add in step one next time.  More parsley would have been fine, as well as another green onion.  I love horseradish, and the dipping sauce was creamy but didn’t have very much horseradish bite, so I would use a full tablespoon of horseradish in my next attempt.  I realize it sounds like a lot of criticism, but I enjoyed these despite my desire for some modifications.  I can see going in a couple of different directions here: Mexican, with jalapeno and cilantro, or Asian, with sirracha and heavier sesame flavor. These cakes are a lovely base for some culinary artistry.

 

One thought on “Something is Fishy Around Here

Leave a Reply

