Obsession

It’s official.  I am obsessed with my pressure cooker.  I am going to pressure cook everything in the house.  The release of pressure at the completion of cooking time is ridiculously entertaining to me, and I can’t stop thinking about the next thing I will make.

This was the other recipe Good Housekeeping featured in the September issue in their article about how to pressure cook.

http://www.goodhousekeeping.com/food-recipes/a34130/butternut-squash-risotto/

LEVEL: Easy
SERVES: 4

Ingredients

1 tbsp. oil
2 medium shallots, chopped
3 cloves garlic, chopped
4 leaves sage, chopped
1/4 tsp. salt
2 c. Arborio rice
4 c. lower-sodium broth
1 lb. chopped butternut squash
1/2 c. Grated Parmesan
1/2 tsp. salt, divided
1/4 tsp. pepper

Directions

  1. In a pressure cooker in oil on medium, cook shallots, garlic, sage, and 1/4 teaspoon salt. Add arborio rice and cook 2 minutes, stirring. Add lower-sodium broth and butternut squash. Lock lid; cook under high pressure 6 minutes. Release pressure; stir in Parmesan, remaining salt, and pepper.
ABOUT 465 CALS, 11 G PROTEIN, 91 G CARBS, 7 G FAT (2 G SAT), 5 G FIBER, 890 MG SODIUM.The only change I made to this recipe was to use 2 teaspoons of butter instead of the oil for the initial browning.  It was all that was left of a stick after holiday entertaining and I wanted it gone.  Pressie worked like a charm this time; I clearly have figured out what I’m doing with her.  When I released the pressure, my husband had just gotten up; I was excited to show him the dramatic moment.  He actually covered his ears! One cat went tearing out of the kitchen; another sat in the doorway with his ears flattened and a worried look on his face.  Poor boys. I danced with glee.

When the pressure was fully released and I opened the lid, I was a little worried because it looked like there was a lot of liquid left.  But when  I stirred in the salt, pepper, and my parm-reggiano cheese blend, the liquid disappeared and the consistency was perfect.  The flavor is out of this world.  Rich, creamy, and thick, most of the squash cooked down from the cubes to soft little bits scattered throughout the pot.  Peeling and chopping the squash took me more time than the actual cooking.  If you bought pre-cut squash, you could have this impressive meal on the table in under 20 minutes. Verdict: a definite keeper as a side or a main dish!  I’m on a hunt for more risotto recipes to make in the pressure cooker.

20160103_114730

 

Leave a Reply

