Seasonal Squash Roast

Becoming a shareholder in a Community Supported Agriculture farm was one of the best decisions I ever made.  Strange vegetables would show up frequently, challenging me to step outside my comfort zone of always buying the same vegetables at the grocery store.  I encountered brain-like celeriac, weird Asian greens I’d never heard of (mizuna), vegetables I’d only seen in the Chopped mystery baskets (daikon radish), and things I couldn’t identify without referring to the CSA weekly email (pea shoots).

Towards the end of the season, our CSA sends lots of fall and winter squash, which has always been on my go-to list.  Delicata squash was new to me, so I did some internet searching and found this gem (I have no idea of the source– I wrote it on a piece of paper, so my apologies to anyone wanting to see the original post).

Delicata Squash Roast

For the drizzle:

1 Tbs each melted butter, fresh thyme, honey
2 tsp oil
3 cloves garlic, sliced

Whisk together all ingredients; set aside.

For the squash roast:

2-12 oz delicata squashes, sliced 1/2 inch thick (skin is edible)
1 pound of red onions, sliced thinly
1/2 tsp each salt and pepper

Toss vegetables together and sprinkle with salt and pepper.  Drizzle with butter/honey mixture.  Roast 20-30 minutes at 400 degrees. Sprinkle with 3 Tbs fresh parsley.

I’ve done this recipe with butternut squash  and kohlrabi.  The batch pictured is a pound of butternut squash, one kohlrabi bulb (fist-sized), and 1.2 of a large red onion, vertically sliced.  Roast as stated above, or until the squash and kohlrabi are fork-tender. The parsley is definitely optional.  It’s sinfully delicious.

2015-10-18 11.11.43

Leave a Reply

