Taking the Leap

Welcome to Sweet and Savory Delights – a different kind of food blog

Ermigerd!  I have been talking about taking this step for over a year.  I’m pushing the stumbling blocks and stalling self-talks out of the way and DOING IT.

I’m a culinary student with the end goal of being a caterer and personal chef.  I’m about 18 months into my culinary program and have a ridiculous passion for cooking and baking.  My focus is comfort foods made healthy, but I sure do love butter…and cream…and bacon.

I search for recipes all the time.  We have 4 shelves of cookbooks in our kitchen, and stacks of cooking magazines all over the place.  I follow food sites like Food & Wine, The Kitchn, and Cooking Light, and a couple of food blogs.  I’ve got a pretty short attention span for some things, and most food blogs make me crazy.  Here’s why:  if I’m looking for a recipe, it’s annoying to have to scroll through the equivalent of 3 pages of pictures and somebody’s life story to find it.  JUST GIVE ME THE RECIPE!  I don’t need 20 pictures of your mise en place and every step that you took along the way.  If something is complicated or hard to explain, I get it.  Thanks for the visual or the video.  But really, JUST GIVE ME THE RECIPE!

So I promise to be different.  I might tell you a story, but my plan is to give you 2 pictures, max, and put the recipe at the forefront.  I wear a lot of hats, so it’s going to be a challenge to post regularly, but it’s a labor of love and I’m committed to making it happen.  Thanks for visiting, and I hope you’ll be back soon!

Leave a Reply

